Between April and June, 485,148 people took their practical driving test, 49.2% passed. Owner of El Passo, Gavin Mawditt shares a day in his life as a driving instructor.

I am an advanced driving instructor, so most of my day is spent in my car. I’ve been doing the job for the last 15 years. It all started after a friend of mine mentioned he’d started doing it. He’d lost his job as a miner and set up his own driving school.

El passo4

I didn’t like the job I was doing and wanted to do something different, so I started training. I hold an ADI licence which is hard earned by passing a theory, driving and teaching exam through the Driving Standards Agency.

An average day starts with me picking up my first pupil at 9am, I will then see a variety of pupils all at different levels usually finishing at about 7pm…..some lessons are an hour long and some are an hour and a half.

I love the fact that every day is different and seeing how much learning to drive and passing the test means to my pupils is simply the best reward ever. Seeing how many people are now on the road driving as a result of my tuition and their teamwork, is the thing I’m most proud of. My first-time pass rate is very high, being able to drive is something that really makes a difference to people’s lives.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If someone was considering a career as a driving instructor, then I’d tell them to make sure that they like people and have the patience to teach! If you think you have, then this is an incredibly rewarding job to do. I’d advise starting with a franchise company first though, to build a reputation and to get yourself known before then branching out solo.

I really wish I’d known just how much I was going to enjoy being my own boss and just how rewarding the job was going to be. If I had known this I would have started in this career a lot earlier!

El Passo3

If you’d like to find out more about how to become a driving instructor and how you can qualify, then all the details you need are here.

Leave a Reply

